Personal Fitness Trainer Dublin Darragh Hayes

Cover Model Body Personal Training

My Prep for Mr International World Competition Indonesia 2010

Mr International World Competition Indonesia 2010

My preparation

It’s been just over two months now that I won the Mr International Ireland competition, and what a time it’s been!

I have been out the door with work and offers from all over the place which is cool! I have also just launched my website Cover Model Body Personal Training which I am extremely excited about.

It’s a membership website packed full of training and nutrition information. Also offers online and one to one Personal Training in the ABS Gym in Temple Bar. 😉

I will have continuous monthly step by step training and nutrition videos for Members plus online coaching for people who are too lazy to get their asses into me in temple bar! 🙂

It’s packed full of brilliant content with lots of free advice and reports so get on over there an sign up for free!!! 😉

So down to my training and diet preparation for the Mr International World competition in Indonesia this November.

Check out their website –> http://www.misterinternational.co.uk/index2.html

Not a huge difference with my diet but definitely a difference.. I will explain as you read through 😉 .I have been so busy with work, training and modeling that I have had to eat on to go a lot of the time!

Not the ideal situation for me but as I’ve said to many of my clients before when they ask this question, there’s always a healthy protein filled alternative to a baguette, wrap or a sandwich!

What’s so bad about a salad bowl? If ever I’m out and about and stuck that’s usually my preferred option. I have to say subway salad bowls and meatballs are EPIC! Love em 🙂 We all live on them in the ABS Gym!

So generally my diet is clean and mainly carb and the evil “SUGAR” free except for my one “CHEAT” day a week. I look forward to my cheat day every week.

See a lot people think that I am regimented and like a robot when it comes to my diet but hey I’m human after all!

Of course I love the sugar and fat filled bad stuff just like anyone else but I am dedicated to my training and to my physique so I can put aside the cravings for 6 days in the week.

Did you actually know that a “Cheat Day” is a GOOD thing to do!! You actually burn a lot more bodyfat and burn it quicker by doing it!

Pretty damn cool don’t you think? So yeah that pizza or chocolate cake once a week is definitely a good thing to do. I can hear you asking how?.



Well it’s simple when you know! When you’re on a low carb no sugar diet your metabolism can slow right down so what the “Cheat Day” does is stimulate your metabolism and gives it the kick in the ass it needs to speed right up and burns fat QUICKER! Cool 🙂

Don’t go nuts now and cheat from morning to night because that will defeat the purpose altogether.

You’ve got to structure it properly in such a way that you are manipulating your metabolism and creating an insulin rise in a structured manner.

Taking in too many calories means the excess will just turn to fat! Not cool!!

Always have a calorie deficit day the day before and the day after. This will trick your body into thinking it’s going to get something it craves but will be sorely disappointed thus causing your metabolism to speed right up and burn even MORE FAT even quicker! 😉

It’s also something to look forward to and work towards every week. I sure as hell know I do 🙂 hmmm what will I have this week?? Melted Belgian Chocolate with Profiteroles or banoffee pie.. Yum yum yum 🙂

Anyway enough on cheat days for now, back to my prep for this competition in Indonesia.

The past three weeks have been tough! I started a new program with structured timed training windows so means you’ve feck all rest between sets and also going for 10 reps on all exercises!..

More metabolic training to get me down to my target bodyfat of 6% before I go on the 8th o November 😉 Still lifting heavy though!!

Staying around the 110kg mark for benching and up to 160kgs squatting so don’t think just because you’re training in timed windows you need to drop the weight..

You do if you’re not getting the 10reps though! 😉 I’m also doing track sprint sessions 3/4 times per week. 30/40 yard sprints with 2minute rests in between. I usually do this 10 times! Great for burning fat and working your whole body especially your abs! 😉

Diet is always a tough thing to master and when you’re trying to get from 7.5% bodyfat to 6% in a week and a half it can be very tough.

The reason being is you are constantly in a calorific deficit in order to burn fat. I love eating so it’s definitely a very tough thing for me but I’m doing well!

Mainly staying with lean meat like chicken and greens like broccoli, spinach and salads. My last cheat day before I go was last Sunday so I enjoyed that! Haha I had a Chinese and a rocky road for desert! YUM 🙂

So I’ve six days left now and I’ll continue the way I’m going. I keep updating my Facebook fanpage with pics so keep looking to see how I am progressing over the next few days!.. Indonesia here I come! 🙂

Darragh Hayes BBS CPT NCEF

Personal Trainer Dublin | Cover Model Body Personal Training

The ABS Gym Temple Bar, Dublin 2

November 3, 2010 - Posted by | Lifestyle Management, Nutrition, Personal Training | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Welcome to Indonesia, bro..
    Enjoy My Country 🙂

    Comment by Mikhael | November 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

